• Deola

Chakras, the wheels that heal…

Chakra means wheel. Within the human energy system, chakras are spiral-like cores that gather, circulate, and radiate life force energy. They are like disks that contain vital programs of life. While hundreds of chakras continuously vitalise our physical and subtle bodies, ancient 
traditions refer to seven main Chakras. Each one vibrates at a specific color frequency, glowing like a rainbow within us. Hence, human beings are referred to as the rainbow bridge.


Our physical and subtle bodies are woven together by the functioning of the chakras. Their pulsation emits light, which is sometimes visible as an aura shining around the body. They regulate our main glands and organ systems. Mostly, they influence our emotions and mental state. Generally, when in balance, the Chakra’s promote health and wellbeing.

The Chakras are invisible with the naked eye, and cannot be touched with hands. However, they can be perceived as a vibration. This aura of light-colour-sound frequencies is always around our bodies, as a field of protection and resources.

The attributes of the first Chakra, Muladhara, located in the base of the spine and coccygeal plexus, is associated with physical identity, self-preservation, stability, grounding, physical health and trust. When this chakra is excessive one experiences sluggishness, monotony, obesity, hoarding, materialism and greed. When this Chakra is deficient, one is fearful, undisciplined, restless, underweight and spacey.

The second Chakra, Swadisthana, located a few inches below the belly button represents emotional identity, self-gratification, fluidity, pleasure, healthy sexuality, and feeling. When this Chakra exhibits excessive characteristics, the person is overly emotional, has poor boundaries, and will have obsessive attachments. When deficient the person tends to be rigid, emotionally numb, fearful of pleasure and frigid.

The third Chakra, Manipura, located in the solar plexus transforms direction into intention. This chakra regulates our ego identity, self-definition, strength of will, self-esteem, and spontaneity. When excessive, the person will be dominating, controlling, aggressive, scattered and constantly active. When deficient, the person has weak will power and poor self-confidence.

Heart of Locks

Anahata Chakra, the fourth, located over the heart, is related to self-acceptance and social identity. A balanced heart Chakra helps us to cultivate compassion, gratitude, loving relationships and balance. Located in the centre of the seven chakras, it connects the upper Chakras with the lower ones. Excessive characteristics include co-dependency, possessiveness and jealousy. Deficiencies manifest as shyness, loneliness, isolation, lack of empathy, bitterness and excessive criticism.

The fifth Chakra, Vishuddha, located in the throat represents communication, creativity and self-expression. To speak our truth and be heard is the orientation of this chakra. People with excessive characteristics tend to talk too much, are unable to listen and stutter. Deficiency manifests as fear of speaking, poor rhythm and aphasia.

Ajna the sixth Chakra is located in the forehead, between the eyebrows, also called the third eye, holds intuition and imagination. Self-reflection, accurate interpretation, and clear sight are the features of this Chakra. When excessive one is delusional, has nightmares, hallucinations and has difficulty concentrating. If this Chakra is deficient, one has poor memory, is unimaginative, and has poor vision.

The seventh Chakra, Sahasrara is at the top of the head and is the seat of self-knowledge and awareness. Wisdom, consciousness and spiritual connection are the main attributes of this Chakra. A person with an excessive crown Chakra will be overly intellectual, addicted to spirituality, confused and disassociated. Deficiencies manifest as learning difficulties, spiritual scepticism, limited beliefs and apathy.

Seventh Chakra, Sahasrara

Tuning into the energy of each Chakra invites you to discover and embody the fullness of your potential. Much as the waves in the ocean are moving endlessly, our life force is constantly being recharged.

As we becoming more conscious of the functioning of the Chakras, it offers us the opportunity to meet ourselves from different perspectives. We have the chance to discover our core in stillness, as forms keep dissolving and reappearing.

By developing Chakra sensitivity we can stimulate cellular intelligence, promote deeper relaxation, and reduce stress. Intuitive responses become natural, creative expression and playfulness pervade daily actions.

Balanced Chakras support healing at a physical, emotional and mental level. When our chakra system is harmonious and integrated, our life unfolds in a magical way. It is like listening to beautiful music and dancing to its pace.

179 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All